Tianjin still in the race to host 2014 WTA Championships

Updated: 2013-01-31
Share this news?...Click box   Bookmark and Share
The Women's Tennis Association has announced three cities - Monterrey, Mexico, Singapore and Tianjin, China - remain in the race for the WTA Championships for 2014 and beyond on Wednesday.

WTA Chairman and CEO Stacey Allaster will visit the finalists in the coming weeks, with the announcement of the winning host city to be made in April.

Allaster was scheduled to make an official visit to Monterrey on Jan 30 and 31. Monterrey has been accepted as a candidate city, replacing Mexico City as the official Mexican site. Allaster is also expected to visit Singapore the week of Feb 25, followed by Tianjin around March 4.

"The WTA Championships provide cities around the world with a stage on which they can be showcased. I am very pleased with the amount of international interest the bidding process has received," said Allaster. "I look forward to meeting with each finalist city and having the opportunity to review, in person, the details of each bid."

After receiving more than 40 initial expressions of interest for the 2014 WTA Championships, the field was narrowed to four cities in Nov 2012 – Kazan, Russia, Mexico City, Mexico, Singapore and Tianjin, China.
SOURCE: China Daily
Editorial Message
This site contains materials from other clearly stated media sources for the purpose of discussion stimulation and content enrichment among our members only.
whatsontianjin.com does not necessarily endorse their views or the accuracy of their content.
For copyright infringement issues please contact editor@whatsontianjin.com
Share this news?...Click box   Bookmark and Share
Comments Area ( Total Comments: 0 )