Tianjin among 3 finalists for 2014 WTA Championships

Updated: 2013-01-31
Share this news?...Click box   Bookmark and Share
The WTA announced that Tianjin, China; Monterrey, México and Singapore are the three remaining candidates in the bid to host the WTA Championships for 2014 and beyond.

The Russian city of Kazan was voted out of contention in the latest round and Mexico City was replaced by Monterrey.

Stacey Allaster, chief executive officer of the WTA Tour, is currently visiting Monterrey, and is due to visit Singapore on February 25th and Tianjin on March 4th. The winning city will be announced in April.

"The WTA Championships provide cities around the world a stage on which their cities can be showcased. I am very pleased with the amount of international interest the Championships' bidding process has received. I look forward to meeting with each finalist city and having the opportunity to review, in-person, the details of each bid," said the head of the Women's Tennis Association.

43 cities around the world expressed an interest in hosting the tournament which brings the top eight women’s singles players together annually at the end of the season.

The tournament’s three-year contract with Istanbul, Turkey, expires in 2013.
Editorial Message
This site contains materials from other clearly stated media sources for the purpose of discussion stimulation and content enrichment among our members only.
whatsontianjin.com does not necessarily endorse their views or the accuracy of their content.
For copyright infringement issues please contact editor@whatsontianjin.com
Share this news?...Click box   Bookmark and Share
Comments Area ( Total Comments: 0 )